Will Nintendo ever lose its place as king of portable gaming?

Discussion in 'Portable Gaming' started by Ghost Rider, Jan 14, 2014.

1. Ghost Rider

Ghost Rider Member

Nintendo has been the king of portable gaming ever since I started playing video games. Its Gameboy product line is unrivaled. Even the mighty Sony with its PSP can't keep up with the numbers that Nintendo's handheld device is generating. Do you even see Nintendo losing its spot at the top? How could Sony ever beat Nintendo in the portable gaming department?

2. Rocketman

Rocketman Member

I don't think that Nintendo is going to get beat anytime soon in terms of portable consoles. However, I think that they're losing a lot of profit due to mobile gaming, which is cheaper, more casual friendly, and accessible.

3. fireinyourwords

fireinyourwords Member

I don't think Nintendo will ever get knocked off the top of the portable gaming heap. They made an odd choice in my opinion releasing the 2DS, but it seems to have been pretty financially lucrative for them. I love my 3DS, and I would love to have a Vita, but I feel the 3DS has more quality games right now. This might change with Playstation Now.

4. jbeavis100

jbeavis100 Member

NOPE NOPE NOPE. That's never going to happen. They know exactly what they are doing with that. They arn't losing a penny to mobile gaming because that's not gaming. That's cash in crap games. Anybody who actually plays games wants something more interesting then that. It's why I love my 3DS so much. Being able to play games like Fire Emblem on the go is freaking awesome.

5. 4justice

4justice Member

Everyone has tried from Sega, to NEC, to SNK, to Atari, to Nokia, to Sony have tried. Nobody has been able to do it yet.

But to be fair, never say never. There was a time when Nintendo was the king of the home system market. Keep in mind people used to say Nintendo would never lose dominance of the home gaming market as well.